Monday, July 25, 2011

New Commissioner

Joseph Hunt of St. Louis was sworn in today as the newest member of the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission. Chief Justice Richard B. Teitelman administered the oath of office in a ceremony at the Civil Courts Building in St. Louis.  Gov. Jay Nixon appointed Hunt to the commission post on June 30.

Hunt is the general president emeritus of the Ironworkers International and has served as an official in the building and construction trades for more than 40 years.  He has served as a board member of the Lambert St. Louis International Airport Commission, as a member of the National Heavy and Highway Alliance, and on the regional committee of the National Infrastructure Alliance. 

Hunt's term ends March 1, 2017.  He replaces David Gach of St. Joseph, whose appointment expired in March.

The Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission is a six-member citizens' panel that governs MoDOT.  It can have no more than three members from any one political party.  Hunt is a Democrat.  Members are appointed to staggered six-year terms by the governor and must be confirmed by the senate. 

Other members of the commission are Grace Nichols, St. Charles, chair; Rudy Farber, vice-chair; Neosho; Joe Carmichael, Springfield; Stephen Miller, Kansas City and Kenneth Suelthaus, St. Louis.